Congratulations to all the finalists nominated for the 2018 Victorian Disability Awards. This year, the awards ceremony will take place on 16 August 2018. 

Emerging leader award

  • Frank Cutuli, The Bridge
  • James Griffiths, Wellington Access and Inclusion Advisory Group – Wellington Shire Council
  • Marie Allen, Vision Australia
  • Nazim Erdem OAM, AQA Victoria
  • Nina O’Dea, Little Athletics Victoria

Excellence in creating inclusive communities

  • Bandmates Victoria, Maribyrnong City Council
  • Great Ocean Stays
  • Jim Blackburn, Disabled Wintersport Australia
  • Myrtleford Rural Intensive Program, Interchange Outer East
  • Quippings Performance Troupe, Quippings

Excellence in employment outcomes award

  • Able Bakehouse, Melba Support Services
  • Arts Project Australia
  • Knoxbrooke social enterprise – Yarra View Nursery =, Knoxbrooke Incorporated
  • Accessible Information Service, Scope Australia
  • Yooralla–Schneider Electric Benalla Supported Employment Partnership, Yooralla

Excellence in promoting health, housing and wellbeing

  • Blind Sports and Recreation Victoria team, Blind Sports and Recreation Victoria
  • Emelia Young, Yooralla
  • Residential Independence Pty Ltd – Supporting seriously injured Victorians to live independently, Transport Accident Commission
  • Special Olympics Pathway, Gymnastics Victoria
  • Wheelchair Rugby Development Partnership, Disability Sport and Recreation

Excellence in promoting rights, fairness and safety

  • Clickability
  • Deaf Blind Victorians – Ross House
  • Dorothy Armstrong, RMIT University
  • Emma Gierschick
  • Speak Up and Be Safe from Abuse team, Scope Australia

Volunteer award

  • Emma Gierschick, Family Life Volunteer
  • Gippsland No Boundaries Cricket managers, Gippsport
  • Mel Spencer, Different Journeys and Maroondah City Council
  • Tim McNeill, People Outdoors
  • Woody Marriott, Eastern Disability Action Group

Lifetime achievement honour roll

  • Helena Gillies, Brite Services and Victorian Vocational Rehabilitation Association
  • Hilary Johnson, Scope Australia
  • Ivan Peterson, City of Whittlesea
  • Jan Ashford, Communication Rights Australia
  • Justin Marshall, Guide Dogs Victoria
  • Lorraine Woodman, Lord’s Taverners
  • Patricia Malowney, Eastern Metropolitan Regional Family Violence Partnership

Photo by Paul Stickman on Unsplash